shortcut to content
Glens Falls City Schools logo


Service, leadership, and character embodied in National Honor Society inductees

photo of students

December 7, 2016 —
The Glens Falls High School Chapter of National Honor Society inducted 23 new members in a ceremony held at the school on November 17, 2016. The chapter’s Faculty Selection Committee chose members based on evidence provided in their applications. To be eligible for membership consideration, students must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5. They must complete an application that provides evidence of service and leadership in their school and community and submit character references for review.

Students inducted were seniors, Olivia Cohen, Ashley DeWitt, Alyssa Fairchild, and Brandon Sherman and juniors: Kailyn Anselment, Sarah Blow, Mikayla Burrows, Sarah Burton, Emily Derrick, Isabel Dickey, Elizabeth Fisher, William Florio, Kennedy Guy, Nolan Hogan, Caitlin Hogan, Nathan Kroeze, Brock Layden, Taylor Scarincio, Cambrie Schliff, Carli Surprenant, Matthew Thung, Lindsey Twardy, and Hannah Young.

Principal Mark Doody recognized these outstanding members of the Glens Falls student body for their exemplary contributions to the school and community. He applauded current NHS members for their continued service to local organizations and charities.

Mrs. Pamela Granger, retired music teacher gave the induction speech. She exemplified the four pillars with anecdotes from her many years of working with Glens Falls students on musicals. President of NHS, Bridget Bruen, led her fellow officers, Justin Nolan, Ellie Gohn, and Taylor Wooley in the candle lighting ceremony. Each officer delivered an original speech that illuminated one of the pillars of NHS. Bridget Bruen led the pledge and Mr. Doody and Mrs. Maureen Sara, NHS advisor, welcomed the new members with a certificate and a National Honor Society pin and membership card.

The Strolling Strings, directed by Ms. Suzanne Leyden, provided music.