shortcut to content
Glens Falls City Schools logo


These students have it all—service, leadership, and character

photo of HS all county band musiciansNovember 22, 2017 — The Glens Falls High School Chapter of National Honor Society inducted 25 new members in a ceremony held at the school on November 16, 2017. The chapter’s Faculty Selection Committee chose members based on evidence provided in their applications. To be eligible for membership consideration, students must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5. They must also complete an application that provides evidence of service and leadership in their school and community and submit character references for review.

Students inducted were senior, Drew Knapp and juniors: Justina Aiken, John Andre, Matelyn Benway, Luke Borgos. McKenna Clark, Taylor Colvin, Olivia Dybas, Joseph Girard, Liam Gormley, Lauren Hauser, Hannah Hawkins, Griffin Jones, Scott Jones, Drew Knapp, Coleman Leland, Stephanie Meehan, Claudia Miner, Catherine Montgomery, Marlee Pelton-Fuentes, Shyeann Rawson, Madison Redmond, Meghan Siergiey, Brienna Vassar, Callie Woodell, and Jacqueline Young.

Principal Tammy Silvernell recognized these outstanding members of the Glens Falls student body for their willingness to challenge themselves academically while simultaneously making exemplary contributions to the school and community. She applauded current NHS members for their continued service to local organizations and charities.

Mrs. Kaitlyn Hobbs Demers, a graduate of Glens Falls High School and a lawyer who served as Associate Counsel to Vice President Joe Biden gave the induction speech. She emphasized character as the quality that underlies the other three pillars of NHS and illustrated its importance with personal experiences from her first career as a teacher of inner city students, her academic challenges as a law student, and her encounters with leadership as a lawyer in Washington, DC. Her new baby, Leo, attended the ceremony, but did not upstage his mother, a veteran of that stage.

photo of students in concert drress with instrumentsPresident of NHS, Sarah Burton, led her fellow officers, Isabel Dickey, Nolan Hogan, and Hannah Young in the candle lighting ceremony. Each officer delivered an original speech that illuminated one of the pillars of NHS. Sarah led the pledge and Mrs. Silvernell and Mrs. Sara, NHS advisor, welcomed the new members with a certificate and a National Honor Society pin and membership card.

The Strolling Strings, directed by Ms. Suzanne Leyden, provided music.

NHS seniors include Kailyn Anselment, Sarah Blow, Mikayla Burrows, Sarah Burton, Olivia Cohen, Emily Derrick, Ashley DeWitt, Izzy Dickey, Alyssa Fairchild, Elizabeth Fisher, William Florio, Kennedy Guy, Nolan Hogan, Nathan Kroeze, Brock Layden, Taylor Scarincio, Cambrie Schliff, Walton Stanton, Carli Surprenant, Matthew Thung, Lindsey Twardy, and Hannah Young.